• A single thing

    Saturday February 12, 2022

    A single thing

    Jesus, having looked at him, loved him, and said to him : You lack one thing ; go, sell all you have, give it to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, and follow me. Mark 10:21

    I ask the Eternal one thing, which I ardently desire : I would like to dwell all my life in the house of the Eternal, to contemplate the magnificence of the Eternal and to admire his temple. Psalm 27:4

    I do one thing : forgetting what is behind and turning towards what is ahead, I run towards the goal, to win the prize of God's heavenly calling in Jesus Christ. Philippians 3:13,14

    My life is made up of a multitude of more or less important things. Days can be busy, but when I think about it, I wonder if I often miss the point. I have the feeling of wasting time with many things and even starting the day in a bad way.

    What matters is what God thinks of me and my life. The rich young man, of whom the first verse speaks, had an exemplary life outwardly. The Lord does not dispute this, but His response to the statement : Master, I have kept all these things (the commandments of God) from my youth is : You lack one thing ; go, sell all you have, give it to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me Nothing of my possessions or what I love on earth should stop me from following Jesus.

    Then, it is important to live each day seeking the presence of God : I ask the Eternal for one thing that I ardently desire : I would like to live all my life in the house of the Eternal. Should we enter a monastery to continually benefit from the presence of God ? No, to live in the house of God is to seek communion with him, where I am. My knowledge of the Lord will deepen, my intimacy with him will grow by living every moment with him and for him.

    Finally, my life will gain strength if I do one thing to achieve the goal, directing all my efforts towards it, to win the prize of God's heavenly calling in Christ Jesus. It is glory with Christ.

    In a day, different situations arise: loneliness, contacts, family, social, professional life, meeting with other Christians... Whatever the moment, I can live it in the presence of the Lord, in order to honor him. , Only him.

    Source (Pleasing the Lord)

    « It is in calm that your strength will beBeyond my strength »
    Partager via Gmail

    Tags Tags: , , ,
  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: