• The real doctor ?

    Friday 1 March 2024

    The real doctor

    “Is there no balm in Gilead ? Is there no doctor ?” Jeremiah 8. 22

    Jesus came for those who need a doctor. His words and his action are a balm for the wounds of our life.

    The balm of Gilead had the reputation of calming pain and healing wounds (Jeremiah 46. 11). It was one of the main export products of the land of Canaan (Genesis 37. 25 ; Ezekiel 27. 17). This substance was valuable as, for us, a medicine and we experienced its effectiveness.

    But Jeremiah speaks in the moral sense. The pain of his heart is immense in the face of the ruin of the people of God. "My heart aches within me [...] I am broken by the pain of the daughter of my people, I am in sadness, fear seizes me" (Jeremiah 8. 18-21). He then asks these painful questions : “Is there no balm in Gilead ? Is there no doctor ?”

    The answer is not long in coming, but God will give it to Jeremiah, positive and more wonderful than he could have anticipated :

    - A balm, that is to say the return to the promised land : "I will gather the rest of my sheep from all the countries where I have driven them [...] They will be fruitful and multiply" (Jeremiah 23. 3).

    - A physician, that is to say the Messiah who will take care of his people : “Behold, I will give them healing and health, I will heal them, and I will open to them an abundant spring of peace and faithfulness” ( Jeremiah 33. 6).

    What a precious balm in all the words of God to Jeremiah! Even if he also had to announce terrible facts : "When Jerusalem was taken [...] [the king of Babylon] had Zedekiah's eyes put out [...] The Chaldeans burned the king's house with fire and the houses of the people, and they broke down the walls of Jerusalem” (Jeremiah 39. 1-8).

    As with Jeremiah, God provides the balm for our suffering. When we are in a difficult and painful situation, he assures us, in his mercy and power, that he can and wants to give it to us. He revealed to us the doctor who applies the balm. So all our hope is in Jesus.

    My God, thank you for your promises and for Jesus who fulfills them !

    Source (Pleasing the Lord)

    « "Me, I al the resurrection"I was 12 years old »
    Partager via Gmail

  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: