• God is near

    Friday 21 April 2023

    God resists the proud, but he gives grace to the humble. James 4.6

    God is near

    One cannot think of God except in superlative terms : most high, almighty, thrice holy, etc. But God, who seems inaccessible by his greatness, knows how to stay very close to humanity.

    Who is he closest to ? The greats of this world, the rich, the strong ? No, he reveals himself as being close to those who are weak, downcast, humiliated.

    He is with man conscious of his sin and unworthiness, to forgive and restore him through the blood of the Lord Jesus Christ. As he was with David, weighed down by his sin, or with Elijah lacking in faith (Psalm 51:3-5 ; 1 Kings 19:3-4), God stands with discouraged believers. He strengthens them, lifts them up, and allows them to continue their journey with him.

    God has no use for the proud who rely on their own abilities, who are haughty or mocking. But whoever trusts in the Eternal is surrounded by his grace (Psalm 32:10).

    Pride also affects churches. In Revelation, the church of Laodicea, the haughty, the rich one who needs nothing, is spewed out. That of Philadelphia, not very powerful but which relies on its Savior and on his Word, is honored by God.

    May God grant us the grace to know how to walk humbly with our God (Micah 6:8), to enjoy his fellowship and be in a position of victory that glorifies him.

    Francis River

    __________________

    Proposed reading : Book of the prophet Isaiah, chapter 57, verses 15 to 19.

    57.15 For thus says the Most High, whose dwelling is eternal and whose name is holy : I dwell in high places and in holiness ; but I am with the contrite and humbled man, in order to revive the humbled spirits, in order to revive the contrite hearts.

    57.16 I do not want to dispute forever, nor keep an eternal anger, when in front of me the spirits, the souls that I have made fail.

    57.17 Because of his sinful greed I became angry, I was angry and struck him, I hid myself in my indignation ; and the rebel followed the path of his heart.

    57.18 I have seen his ways, and I will heal him ; I will guide him and comfort him and those who mourn with him.

    57.19 I will put praise on my lips. Peace, peace to him who is far and to him who is near ! says the Eternal. I will heal him.

    Source (Live Today)

    « Little phrase of Thursday 20 April 2023Little phrase of Saturday 22 April 2023 »
    Partager via Gmail

  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: