• Pay for our mistakes ?

    Thursday February 10, 2022

    Repent, and believe the good news. Mark 1. 15

    The goodness of God leads you to repentance. Romans 2. 4

    God therefore granted repentance also to the Gentiles, that they might have life. Acts 11.18

    Pay for our mistakes ?

    The way to God is through repentance. Jesus illustrated this with the parable of the "prodigal son" (Luke 15). This is the story of a young man who claims his share of the inheritance, then leaves home and squanders everything he received, living in debauchery. When he has nothing left, he pulls himself together and declares : "I will get up, I will go to my father, and I will say to him : My father, I have sinned against heaven and against you, I am more worthy of 'to be called your son'.

    Repentance is first becoming aware of guilt, it is a return to what is true. A half-turn towards God, in the feeling of his goodness. He knows all my history ; however serious my sin, I leave it to his mercy.

    But there is a counterfeit of repentance. We would like to compensate by good works, or even by suffering, the evil that we have committed. A friend who had serious worries said : "That way I pay a little for my sins". Isn't that pretentious ? God does not ask us to punish ourselves.

    Repentance is an inward, complete change of conscience and heart. It leads us to see all aspects of our life as God sees them. Descend into the depths of our actions and our thoughts, to judge them and like him, but also to count on his immense kindness who wants to forgive us. This forgiveness God gives freely, on the basis of Christ's sacrifice. Once and for all, on the cross, Jesus paid by taking upon himself, for us, in our place, the punishment that we deserve.

    Source (The Good Seed)

    « Twin towersFinal banquet »
    Partager via Gmail

    Tags Tags: , , ,
  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: